Gyokko Ryu Koshijutsu

Jewel Tiger School

The school is known for its koshijutsu which places an emphasis on striking weak and vital areas of the body such as muscles and soft organs and for using fingers and thumbs for ripping and tearing. The oldest of the nine traditions, this school forms much of the fundamentals for the Bujinkan training including the kihon happo, muto dori, and sanshin no kata. Its movement favors indirect attacks which tend to be spherical and small techniques that often flank the opponent. The ryu is a complete fighting method encompassing koshijutsu which consists mainly of strikes and joint locks with some throws, along with other skills such as Shuriken jutsu (throwing blades), Ken jutsu (sword arts), and Kyoketsushoge (sickle and weighted rope). It has been said that Gyokko Ryu along with Koto Ryu make up 50% of Bujinkan training because of how well they compliment each other using direct and indirect methods of attack. Cho Gyokko originally founded Gyokko Ryu when he fled China during the Tang Dynasty around 900 AD.


The Nine Rules of the Gyokko Ryu:

1. The Character NIN means to guard the nation even with one's life.

2. Forget self, be patient, feat not dying.

3. In danger say or show nothing

4. As a strong enemy comes at you, keep indomitable.

5. Serve and protect the master, as you must your parents.

6. Vices dissipate your proficiency.

7. Being drunk affects your judgement.

8. Destroy the enemy's power but leave his life.

9. To others teach not without the master's permission.


Lineage of Gyokko Ryu:


Hogenbo Tesshun

Sasabe, Tendo

Hachiryu, Nyudo

Tozawa, Hakuunsai

Tozawa, Shozuke

Suzuki, Saburo Shigeyoshi

Suzuki, Gobei

Suzuki, Kojiro Mitsu

Tozawa, Nyudo Geneai

Yamon, Hyoun

Kato, Ryu Hakuun

Sakagami, Goro Katsushige

Sakagami, Taro Kunishige

Sakagami, Kotaro Masahide

Sougyoko, Kan Ritsushi

Toda, Sakyo Ishinsai

Momochi, Sandayu 1

Momochi, Sandayu 2

Momochi, Tanba Yasumitsu

Momochi, Taro Saemon

Toda, Seiryu Nobutsuna

Toda, Fudo Nobuchika

Toda, Kangoro Nobuyasu

Toda, Eisaburo Nobumasa

Toda, Shinbei Masachika

Toda, Shingoro Masayoshi

Toda, Daigoro Chikashige

Toda, Daisaburo Chikashige

Toda, Shinryuken Masamitsu

Takamatsu, Toshitsugu

Hatsumi, Masaaki